CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations (A61)

Complete the CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations (A61) course and learn how to safely and effectively fulfil your responsibilities when planning lifting operations.

Results for CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations (A61) training


Enter your postcode and press 'Update' to find your nearest course.

All courses include registration, exams, certificates and cards where applicable.

Update Adjust settings to update results

Kirkby-in-Ashfield, Nottingham

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 9th SepDuration: 5 days course not including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£895.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 16th Sep, Tue 17th Sep, Wed 18th Sep, Thu 19th SepDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 23rd Sep, Tue 24th Sep, Wed 25th Sep, Thu 26th SepDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

Kirkby-in-Ashfield, Nottingham

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 7th OctDuration: 5 days course not including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£895.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 14th Oct, Tue 15th Oct, Wed 16th Oct, Thu 17th OctDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 28th Oct, Tue 29th Oct, Wed 30th Oct, Thu 31st OctDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

Kirkby-in-Ashfield, Nottingham

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 4th NovDuration: 5 days course not including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£895.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 11th Nov, Tue 12th Nov, Wed 13th Nov, Thu 14th NovDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 18th Nov, Tue 19th Nov, Wed 20th Nov, Thu 21st NovDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 2nd Dec, Tue 3rd Dec, Wed 4th Dec, Thu 5th DecDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 9th Dec, Tue 10th Dec, Wed 11th Dec, Thu 12th DecDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

Kirkby-in-Ashfield, Nottingham

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 9th DecDuration: 5 days course not including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£895.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 20th Jan, Tue 21st Jan, Wed 22nd Jan, Thu 23rd JanDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 27th Jan, Tue 28th Jan, Wed 29th Jan, Thu 30th JanDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 10th Feb, Tue 11th Feb, Wed 12th Feb, Thu 13th FebDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 17th Feb, Tue 18th Feb, Wed 19th Feb, Thu 20th FebDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 24th Feb, Tue 25th Feb, Wed 26th Feb, Thu 27th FebDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 10th Mar, Tue 11th Mar, Wed 12th Mar, Thu 13th MarDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 24th Mar, Tue 25th Mar, Wed 26th Mar, Thu 27th MarDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 31st Mar, Tue 1st Apr, Wed 2nd Apr, Thu 3rd AprDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 14th Apr, Tue 15th Apr, Wed 16th Apr, Thu 17th AprDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 21st Apr, Tue 22nd Apr, Wed 23rd Apr, Thu 24th AprDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 5th May, Tue 6th May, Wed 7th May, Thu 8th MayDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 26th May, Tue 27th May, Wed 28th May, Thu 29th MayDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 2nd Jun, Tue 3rd Jun, Wed 4th Jun, Thu 5th JunDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 9th Jun, Tue 10th Jun, Wed 11th Jun, Thu 12th JunDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 23rd Jun, Tue 24th Jun, Wed 25th Jun, Thu 26th JunDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 7th Jul, Tue 8th Jul, Wed 9th Jul, Thu 10th JulDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 21st Jul, Tue 22nd Jul, Wed 23rd Jul, Thu 24th JulDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 4th Aug, Tue 5th Aug, Wed 6th Aug, Thu 7th AugDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 11th Aug, Tue 12th Aug, Wed 13th Aug, Thu 14th AugDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 18th Aug, Tue 19th Aug, Wed 20th Aug, Thu 21st AugDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 8th Sep, Tue 9th Sep, Wed 10th Sep, Thu 11th SepDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 15th Sep, Tue 16th Sep, Wed 17th Sep, Thu 18th SepDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 29th Sep, Tue 30th Sep, Wed 1st Oct, Thu 2nd OctDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 6th Oct, Tue 7th Oct, Wed 8th Oct, Thu 9th OctDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 20th Oct, Tue 21st Oct, Wed 22nd Oct, Thu 23rd OctDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 3rd Nov, Tue 4th Nov, Wed 5th Nov, Thu 6th NovDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 17th Nov, Tue 18th Nov, Wed 19th Nov, Thu 20th NovDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 1st Dec, Tue 2nd Dec, Wed 3rd Dec, Thu 4th DecDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 8th Dec, Tue 9th Dec, Wed 10th Dec, Thu 11th DecDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£1100.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

Overview

CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations Course

The 4 or 5-day CPCS Appointed Persons course will will teach managers and supervisors their responsibilities around lifting operations and how to fulfil them safely and effectively.

If you already hold the CPCS Code A40 Slinger/Signaller, you will also achieve the CPCS Code A62 Crane Supervisor qualification.

Knowledge and skills covered on the Appointed Person course will include:

  • The roles and responsibilities of an appointed person
  • Understand the relevant health and safety legislation and regulations
  • Understand the principles of a risk assessment and the importance of safe system of work
  • Plan and organise lifting operation
  • Monitoring and supervise lifting operations
  • Effective communication with other members of the team
  • Identify and manage hazards and risks
  • Record-keeping

Course duration

Foundation training courses are for managers and supervisors that are beginners or those with some experience of planning lifting operations. You should have some knowledge of how to plan a safe lifting operation. These courses run over 4 or 5 days.

Mandatory entry requirements

  • CITB health, safety and environment test (managers and professionals level) passed no more than two years before the course start date
  • You should have sufficient experience of cranes to meet the requirements specified in British standard 7121 Safe Use of Cranes
  • Good understanding of spoken and written English.

If you have any questions about the Appointed Person course, please contact a member of our team by phone, speak to us on the chat, or send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

Course Content

You will cover the following learning objectives on your Appointed Person course:

  • Understand the roles and responsibilities of an appointed person in the construction industry
  • Comprehend the relevant health and safety legislation and regulations, such as the Health and Safety at Work Act 1974, the Construction (Design and Management) Regulations 2015, and the Lifting Operations and Lifting Equipment Regulations 1998
  • Understand the principles of risk assessment and the importance of safe work systems
  • Plan and organise lifting operations, including equipment selection, the use of lifting accessories, and preparation of a lift plan
  • Describe different types of cranes and associated terminology
  • Understand crane documentation
  • Understand crane stability, duty charts and safety devices
  • Monitor and supervise lifting operations, including the use of safe signalling procedures, equipment inspection and maintenance, and emergency situation management
  • Observe British Standard 7121 Safe Use of Cranes Guidelines sections 1, 2, 3 and 4
  • Communicate effectively with other members of the lifting team and relevant parties, such as the crane operator, site manager, and client
  • Identify and manage hazards and risks associated with lifting operations, including the use of personal protective equipment (PPE)
  • Emphasise the importance of record-keeping and maintaining accurate and complete records of lifting operations

Assessment

You will take both a theory and practical assessment for your CPCS Appointed Persons course.
You will take a theory assessment in the form of the CPCS verbal test. You need to achieve 80%, plus full marks on any mandatory questions to pass the standard set for the theory test.
In your practical test you will be assessed through practical activities based on the core skills needed outlined in the learning objectives.

Course Details

What happens on an Appointed Person Course?

Most CPCS courses will run in the following format:

  • Day 1 - mostly theory-based classroom training. This is to ensure that you are confident with the theory aspect before you go out and complete the practical training. Depending on how your theory learning goes, you may get practical training for some of the day on your first day.
  • The next 3 days of learning is usually putting your theory knowledge into practice by completing the practical exercises of your training.
  • On the final day of your course, you will complete your theory test preparation by completing mock exam questions, and then complete your actual assessment: the CPCS technical tests.

What qualification will I get on the CPCS Appointed Person course?

  • CPCS Trained Operator Card (red card) on passing the CPCS technical tests.
  • CITB National Construction College e-certificate, available on request from CITB.

Once you have booked your Appointed Person course (A61):

On receiving payment for your CPCS Appointed Person (A61) course, an email with your ‘course joining instructions’ is sent to you.
This document includes the following details:

  • Your chosen course start date and subsequent dates (this is either a 4 or 5-day course)
  • Course start time at your chosen venue
  • Address of your chosen venue, including a map screenshot
  • Details of what to do if you need any special requirements to complete the course

You need to bring photographic ID, such as a driving licence or passport with you.

Lunch is not included, so please provide your own.

Mandatory entry requirements

  • CITB health, safety and environment test (managers and professionals level) passed no more than two years before the course start date
  • You should have sufficient experience of cranes to meet the requirements specified in British standard 7121 Safe Use of Cranes
  • Good understanding of spoken and written English.

Special Considerations

The delegate can have additional time for their theory test which is a verbal or taped verbal test. If a translator is required, this will incur additional costs and will need to be arranged in advance.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding support during the course, please contact our team on 0800 0213 263.

CPCS Cards

Construction Plant Competence Scheme (CPCS)

The CPCS covers an extensive range of plant categories. The Construction Plant Competence Scheme uses practical and written assessments to ensure you are competent in your chosen category. These assessments are taken at the end of your training.

  1. Pass the relevant Health, Safety and Environment Test.
  2. Attend training days in your chosen category.
  3. At the end of your training, complete your category assessments (assessment fee's are included in your course price).
  4. Receive your Trained Operator (red) or Competent Operator (blue) card.

What is the difference between the Red and Blue CPCS Card?

You can start working within your chosen category once you have earned the Red (trained operator) card. The card confirms the core skills, knowledge and understanding required. However, a newly trained operator will still require full and close supervision until they deemed sufficiently experienced to without supervision. That is where the Blue CPCS card comes in.

Red CPCS Card
Each category on your red card will have it's own 2 year expiry date the card itself has no expiry. Your Red card is not renewable, this is to ensure progression towards your competent card (The Blue CPCS card). During the 2 years you will be expected to register and achieve a NVQ (National Vocational Qualification) or SVQ (Scottish Vocational Qualification) and upgrade to the Blue (competent operator) card.

Blue CPCS Card
To earn your Blue card you must meet the requirements of the Red card plus complete an NVQ or SVQ in your category.
Your Blue card will last for 5 years, each category on the card will have the expiry of the card itself. You will have to renew your card within the 5 years.

If you would like to read more about the application process for Red and Blue CPCS cards, read this 'How to get your CPCS Card' document from CPCS.

Grants

This course may be eligible for 1 or more CITB grants. You can check the eligibility of the course on the CITB Grants and funding page.

Course FAQs for CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations (A61)

E-Learning FAQs for CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations (A61)