CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations (A61)

Complete the CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations (A61) course and learn how to fulfil your responsibilities when planning lifting operations to ensure compliance with current law and guidance.

Results for CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations (A61) training


Enter your postcode and press 'Update' to find your nearest course.

All courses include registration, exams, certificates and cards where applicable.

Update Adjust settings to update results

Corby, Northampton

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 18th Oct, Tue 19th Oct, Wed 20th Oct, Thu 21st Oct, Fri 22nd OctDuration: 5 days course not including lunch
2 Place(s) Left£865.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 25th Oct, Tue 26th Oct, Wed 27th Oct, Thu 28th OctDuration: 4 days course including lunch
3 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

Tadley, Hampshire

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 1st Nov, Tue 2nd Nov, Wed 3rd Nov, Thu 4th Nov, Fri 5th NovDuration: 5 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£695.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 15th Nov, Tue 16th Nov, Wed 17th Nov, Thu 18th NovDuration: 4 days course including lunch
2 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

Corby, Northampton

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 22nd Nov, Tue 23rd Nov, Wed 24th Nov, Thu 25th Nov, Fri 26th NovDuration: 5 days course not including lunch
2 Place(s) Left£865.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

Leeds

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 29th Nov, Tue 30th Nov, Wed 1st Dec, Thu 2nd Dec, Fri 3rd DecDuration: 5 days course not including lunch
4 Place(s) Left£950.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 6th Dec, Tue 7th Dec, Wed 8th Dec, Thu 9th DecDuration: 4 days course including lunch
7 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

Corby, Northampton

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 13th Dec, Tue 14th Dec, Wed 15th Dec, Thu 16th Dec, Fri 17th DecDuration: 5 days course not including lunch
2 Place(s) Left£865.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 17th Jan, Tue 18th Jan, Wed 19th Jan, Thu 20th JanDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 31st Jan, Tue 1st Feb, Wed 2nd Feb, Thu 3rd FebDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 21st Feb, Tue 22nd Feb, Wed 23rd Feb, Thu 24th FebDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 7th Mar, Tue 8th Mar, Wed 9th Mar, Thu 10th MarDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 21st Mar, Tue 22nd Mar, Wed 23rd Mar, Thu 24th MarDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 11th Apr, Tue 12th Apr, Wed 13th Apr, Thu 14th AprDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 25th Apr, Tue 26th Apr, Wed 27th Apr, Thu 28th AprDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 16th May, Tue 17th May, Wed 18th May, Thu 19th MayDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 30th May, Tue 31st May, Wed 1st Jun, Thu 2nd JunDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 20th Jun, Tue 21st Jun, Wed 22nd Jun, Thu 23rd JunDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 4th Jul, Tue 5th Jul, Wed 6th Jul, Thu 7th JulDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 18th Jul, Tue 19th Jul, Wed 20th Jul, Thu 21st JulDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 8th Aug, Tue 9th Aug, Wed 10th Aug, Thu 11th AugDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 29th Aug, Tue 30th Aug, Wed 31st Aug, Thu 1st SepDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 12th Sep, Tue 13th Sep, Wed 14th Sep, Thu 15th SepDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 3rd Oct, Tue 4th Oct, Wed 5th Oct, Thu 6th OctDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 17th Oct, Tue 18th Oct, Wed 19th Oct, Thu 20th OctDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 31st Oct, Tue 1st Nov, Wed 2nd Nov, Thu 3rd NovDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 21st Nov, Tue 22nd Nov, Wed 23rd Nov, Thu 24th NovDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 5th Dec, Tue 6th Dec, Wed 7th Dec, Thu 8th DecDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

West Lothian

Course name: CPCS (A61) Appointed Person FoundationDate(s) of course: Mon 12th Dec, Tue 13th Dec, Wed 14th Dec, Thu 15th DecDuration: 4 days course including lunch
8 Place(s) Left£930.00Ex. VATAdd to basket

Overview

CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations Course

The 4 or 5-day CPCS Appointed Persons course will will teach managers and supervisors their responsibilities around lifting operations and how to fulfil them.

If you already hold the CPCS Code A40 Slinger/Signaller, you will also achieve the CPCS Code A62 Crane Supervisor qualification.

What CPCS Course Do You Need?

Most delegates looking for a CPCS course have an idea of the category they need. Usually, it is a requirement of the work they are undertaking or about to undertake.
If you have any doubts about the qualification/category you need, please speak with your manager or the company you are about to begin work with. We cannot specify the category you need.

Construction Plant Competence Scheme (CPCS)

The CPCS covers an extensive range of plant categories. The Construction Plant Competence Scheme uses practical and written assessments to ensure you are competent in your chosen category. These assessments are taken at the end of your training.

  1. Pass your Health, Safety and Environment Test (click here to book your test through the CITB).
  2. Attend training days in your chosen category.
  3. At the end of your training, complete your category assessments (assessment fee's are included in your course price).
  4. Receive your Trained Operator (red) or Competent Operator (blue) card.

Red or Blue Card

You can start working within your chosen category once you have earned the Red (trained operator) card. The card confirms the core skills, knowledge and understanding required, however a newly trained operator will still require full and close supervision until deemed sufficiently experienced to without supervision.

Red Card
Each category on your red card will have it's own 2 year expiry date the card itself has no expiry. During the 2 years you can upgrade to the Blue (competent operator) card.
Your Red card is not renewable, this is to ensure progression towards your competent card.

Blue Card
To earn your Blue card you must meet the requirements of the Red plus complete an NVQ or SVQ in your category.
Your Blue card will last for 5 years, each category on the card will have the expiry of the card itself. You will have to renew your card within the 5 years.

Grants

This course may be eligible for 1 or more CITB grants.

CPCS technical test theory grant
You can claim this grant when your employees pass the theory part of their CPCS technical test (£60 per test).
For full information click here.

CPCS technical test practical grant
You can claim this grant when your employees pass the practical part of their CPCS technical test (£240 for category A40).
For full information click here.

CPCS blue card upgrade grant
You can claim this grant when your employee gains a new plant unit of an NVQ or SVQ. The unit must be a category being added to their blue card (£300 per category).
For full information click here.

Course Content

  • Observe regulations and Codes of Practice.
  • Follow safe systems of work, including method statements.
  • Take personal responsibility.
  • Describe different types of cranes and associated terminology.
  • Understand crane documentation.
  • Understand crane stability, duty charts and safety devices.
  • Appreciate tower cranes.
  • Observe British Standard 7121 Safe Use of Cranes Guidelines sections 1, 2, 3 and 4.
  • Recognise the role of appointed persons.
  • Plan a lift.

Course Details

The CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations A61 course is available to individuals and groups at centres Nationwide. You can choose:

  • To attend your training only, and earn an in-house certificate.
  • Attend the assessments only. This is for those with experience looking to gain their card.
  • Attend both the training and CPCS assessments to earn your Red card, perfect for novices.
  • Attend your training, CPCS assessments and NVQ/SVQ to earn your Blue card.

Mandatory entry requirements

  • CITB health, safety and environment test (managers and professionals level) passed no more than two years before the course start date
  • You should have sufficient experience of cranes to meet the requirements specified in British standard 7121 Safe Use of Cranes
  • Good understanding of spoken and written English.

Special Considerations

The delegate can have additional time for their test which is a tapped verbal test. If a translator is required, this will incur additional costs and will need to be arranged in advance.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding support during the course, please contact our team on: 0800 0213 263

Course FAQs for CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations (A61)

E-Learning FAQs for CPCS Appointed Persons: Lifting Operations (A61)